Home Page

An exploration of other times, other ways, other worlds

Crispina Kemp the blog

Myths, legends, history, poems, photos… a creative miscellany

Crispina Kemp the writer

Graphics copyright Lauren Willmore

The five-book series The Spinner’s Game AVAILABLE on Amazon 


Find these books on Amazon

Set in the between-time when hunter-gatherers turned to settled agriculture, when spirits and demons morphed to gods, the five books of The Spinner’s Game takes the story of Kerrid, wise woman, shaman, across continents and weaves through ages fraught with floods and droughts to become the prototype of our most ancient myths.


e-book and paperback available on Amazon

A hunt through history to find a man; a frantic flight to fix a dragon

Medievalist Neve is delighted to find herself surrounded by swirling colours and foot-stomping music in Regin-jarl’s mead hall… even if her presence is dependent on the memories of a banished angel.

Prompted by the angel to find the truth of her grandfather, locked in a cage to be food for vampiric grimmen, trapped beneath a dragon… life isn’t fun for Neve… though she does like the music!


An astrologer-priest. A judge’s headstrong daughter. A playwright-poet-dancer. An unwilling heiress

A triple eclipse. Unfriendly native fauna. Not to mention the bandits and a sea-monster

All in a totally immersive world. That’s Roots of Rookeri

Available on Amazon


Crispina Kemp the person


A student of the inner lands

of human givens and of the past

my writing reflects the treasures I’ve found there.

Find me on Twitter
[WritingCommunity] @crispinakemp1 
[photos & inspiration] @ineebrown51